Tho Chu Islands

Tho Chu Islands (also known as the Tho Chu Archipelago) consists of eight Vietnamese islands situated in the Gulf of Thailand and are located roughly 160 km northwest of Ca Mau Cape and 100 km southwest of Phu Quoc Island's southern tip and lies within Kien Giang's Phu Quoc District. Tho Chu, the largest island in the group, lies 50 km from the other islands.

tho chu island xanh islet

Tho Chu Islands Phu Quoc Overview

The Tho Chu archipelago consists of the following 8 islands: Tho Chu Island, Kho Islet, Nhan Islet (Hon Nhan), Xanh Islet, Tu Islet (Hon Tu), Cao Islet (Hon Cao), Cao Cat Islet (Hon Cao Cat), and Mo Islet.

tho chu island

Tho Chu (9˚18'N, 103˚28'E), the largest island among the eight islands in the archipelago, houses the communal administrative center and holds a special strategic position of being near international maritime routes in the Eastern Sea.  As of 2014, there are about 2,100 people living on Tho Chu and majority of them are commercial fishermen or navy personnel.

Being an island, the main source of income for the people comes from the sea.  The island is well developed and has a market, dock, residential area, schools, health clinics, a post office, and two beaches: Bai Dong Beach and Bai Ngu Beach.  The weather is governed by the monsoon and can be quite rough at times.  With the strong winds this island has the potential to be another Kite-surfing destination such as Mui Ne.


How to get there

The only island you can visit via public transportation is Tho Chu Island, and it is by a very slow boat (not a ferry).  You can take the boat from either at Rach Gia Port or An Thoi Port. If you are taking the boat from Rach Gia, you will spend the night in An Thoi, Phu Quoc.  From An Thoi it takes 8 hours to reach Tho Chu.

What to see


tho chu beach

tho chu nhan islet


What to do

tho chu tu islet

Where to eat and drink

tho chu island market

Where to stay